Cough Cough

It was a bright sunny day today, except the smog was too thick even to see an outline of the sun.  In winter, we go for weeks at a time like that here.  It’s like walking in a dense fog. 
 
Everyone in the family is having asthma symptoms.  J is on a steroid inhaler.  C said she heard a strange noise as she was jogging the other day.  She looked around to see where the noise was coming from, and then realized it was her breathing.  I’ve been waking up at night restless and unable to go back to sleep, but couldn’t figure out why.  I finally got it:  coughing in my sleep.  Last night I took cough syrup and finally slept well for the first time in a long time.  I also finally figured out: no wonder antibiotics don’t help against this persistent, low grade bronchitis! It’s asthma!  S tells me that being outside for half an hour is like smoking a pack of cigarettes.  I don’t know if it’s that bad, but I’d certainly say it likely could be equivalent to chain smoking for that amount of time. 
 
The Chinese say they don’t have a word that translates as "smog" or "pollution."  They simply say, "Tian qi bu hao," or "Air is Bad." 
 
The city outlawed motorcycles.  I don’t think that’s gonna make one bit of difference.  Nothing will help until the factories stop belching out pollution. 
1 Comment

Filed under Daily Life

One response to “Cough Cough

  1. Tatter

    The pollution part of Guangzhou really gets me worried as my 18 months old son had suffered bronchiolitis twice in the past and were hospitalized both times. I do have a nebulizer machine that I bring with me and his medicines but I\’m still worried abot how the polution will affect his health although his pediatrician assured us before we left the States that he\’s healthy and he\’d probably be having a bad cough if he catch a cold but not the scary wheezing part like previous incidents. Do you mind sharing with me where did you purchased the air purifier machine? I think we need to invest on it.
    Thank you so very much!

Leave a Reply

